Daydream

Maybe

you’ll touch every single scale of my heart

and swallow me in the longest hug

until feathers bloom on my back.

Maybe

you’ll run dragging a kite, bright red coated in ice

and say “See! I’ve put it all aside”.

Maybe

you’ll take my hand and drag me

to the sea that drove us apart:

we’ll plop down and take turns

drinking and laughing until we touch sand.

Maybe

you’ll grow a thousand tulips in the dark,

invite me to collect them, run

and leave one at each door that crosses our path.

Maybe

you’ll track down the Giant Pearl and leave it in its shell

just to prove you have heart –

you can’t pry a mollusc and her pain apart.

Maybe

You’ll lay on the ground while mustangs run in the wild

to show that you don’t budge

when you make up your mind.

Maybe

you’ll boil a potion from blackberries and forget-me-nots

to drink before waltzing and before saying goodbye.

Maybe

you’ll paint us free from the world

and shake hands with Mephisto to keep us alive.

Maybe

you’ll build a castle of dirt, spit, and blood,

lock me at East and feast on my mind.

Maybe

you’ll dock the Moon at my window

so I can see clearly in your eyes.

Maybe

you’ll turn into captain Nemo and sing

giant tides and sea monsters lullabies.

Maybe

you’ll bring me King Midas’ gift

and you’ll roam free from my touch.

Maybe

you’ll forget your claim to my heart

and you’ll ask me what I want

so we’ll both wake up.

Leave a Reply

